Life Is Always Sweeter With Good Food and Great Friends – Restaurant Review: Sugarcane

The Restaurant Sugarcane! (Image from: suavv.com)

The Restaurant Sugarcane! (Image from: suavv.com)

Hello My Adventurous Foodies!

I hope everyone had a great and fun weekend. My weekend was filled with some relaxation, productive cleaning, and spending time with some great friends. Nothing beats good food and great company and I have to say I had both this weekend! I finally had the chance to visit the restaurant Sugarcane in Flatbush Ave., Brooklyn, NY. (This post is especially for my New Yorkers who are into Caribbean food or looking for a new cuisine to embark, I strongly suggest trying Caribbean cuisine if you are into lots of flavors and an array of exotic herbs and spices, it is one of my FAVORITES!) My best friend who lives in Brooklyn has been raving about this restaurant for the longest time and I finally got the chance to see it with my own eyes and mouth (well so to speak LOL).

My bestie Lynce who recommended Sugarcane

My bestie Lynce who recommended Sugarcane

A couple of my friends and a fun journey up to brooklyn and was welcomed warmly with our hostess who had seated us in a comfy booth for 5 at the restaurant. The restaurant is small and cozy (resembles a upscale bistro) and the service was great.  Our server was extremely friendly and polite and we got our food quickly for a restaurant that was packed on a saturday night.

Part of the restaurant, my friend Valdimer is in this shot lol

Part of the restaurant, my friend Valdimer is in this shot lol

We started off with yummy and infamous Rum Punch which was STRONG yet tasty (DEFINETLY a must for Rum lovers, or someone who wants that immediate buzz).

Signature Rum Punch!

Signature Rum Punch!

My chica Yoselin enjoying her Rum Punch :-)

My chica Yoselin enjoying her Rum Punch 🙂

We than all shared a sampler platter that showcase all their appetizers including their chicken and shrimp. The appetizers was delicious and it was gone in seconds!

Appetizer Platter - Doesn't it look sooo good!

Appetizer Platter – Doesn’t it look sooo good!

We than all had different entrees. I was starving so I wanted something filling and when my best friend raved about their Rasta Pasta, I knew I had to have it! Rasta Pasta is a creamy pasta filled with delicious Caribbean spices with your choice of vegetables, chicken or shrimp. I had the chicken and I have to say I loved it.

Rasta Pasta w/ Chicken!

Rasta Pasta w/ Chicken!

Other items that I got to sample was the Jerk Chicken, Rice and Beans, Shrimp, Fried Plantains, and their Macaroni Pie. All were delicious and you can tell they were made from scratch. The food to me tasted just like if you were down in a local restaurant in the Caribbean and eating authentic Caribbean cuisine. We than finished with a sample of their desserts that included Chocolate Cake, Bread Pudding, Cassava, and Coconut Ice Cream.

The array of desserts!

The array of desserts!

In the end we split the bill between all of us (Gratuity is included for groups of 4 and up) and the check average per person was $49) I think this was great deal because not only did we each get a drink but also a appetizer, entree and a dessert.

The food overall was delicious and the service was great! It is refreshing to go into a restaurant like Sugarcane and enjoy a delicious and authentic meal in a great atmosphere. I definetly recommend Sugarcane to anyone who wants to try a new retaurant in Brooklyn. So if you are in the area and want to try something new, go to Sugarcane! You will not regret it 🙂

Food and Life quote (Image from: motivationblog.org)

Food and Life quote (Image from: motivationblog.org)

12 thoughts on “Life Is Always Sweeter With Good Food and Great Friends – Restaurant Review: Sugarcane

  1. roodonfood says:

    I liked your review of Sugarcane. I live in that area and have always been curious to try it. Are these guys pan-carribean or focused on one country? Is the cassava dessert cassava pone? Cheers.

    • smileycook says:

      Thanks so much! You should def check out this restaurant one of these days, and if you do I hope you enjoy it as much as I do 🙂 As far as focused, I had more of a Trinidadian vibe of the food. As for the cassava dessert, it was cassava pone. If you are into cassava it is def a dessert to try out 🙂

Leave a comment