The Beauty of a Hand

The Beauty of a Heart

The hand can hold the talent to create some beautiful things…

Hey my friends,

I wanted to take a new approach to poetry by writing a recipe within a poem. It was a bit tricky but I think it came out unique yet beautiful. Hope you enjoy 🙂

The Beauty of a Hand

These hands

These overused yet simple hands

Sometimes manicured to perfection

But most of the time simple and ordinary

No polish on the fingers

Nails tend to get long

Your simple yet beautiful hands

 

They tend to create a beautiful thing

A beautiful thing you say…

Yes a beautiful thing..

It can start with the opening of a simple cookie mix…

That leads to the mixing and intertwining of something simple yet beautiful…

The marriage of an egg, stick of butter and of course lots of sweet chocolate chips

Creating a dough so rich yet a bit grainy to the tip

The beauty of a simple dough

The beauty of a simple dough

 

The use of this hand can shape a simple yet perfect heart

Perfect like a heart shape pan

Butter it up with sweet nothings

Tell me secrets that you have never shared

Press them down towards my soul like dough to a pan

Let it sink in into every corner like my heart

Show my heart the true joy of knowing you

Light a fire like you would and oven

Engulf me in your heat 350 degrees

Let me settle in your warmth

Love me not only for 10 to 15 minutes

But love me for a lifetime

 

Perfect shaped heart <3

Perfect shaped heart ❤

 

Let this beauty cool till cold to the touch

Awing at the perfect form

Love comes in all types of forms

It can be showered in words, actions, even a simple gesture

But for these hands they shower love in pink icing

The sweetness so decadent it is covered and written on this beautiful heart

Use these hands…

To show me how you love me

To show me how you care

Actions clearly speak louder than words…

 

Your hands

Your simple yet beautiful hands…

They have created

They have used

These hands have shown kindness

These hands have shown strength

 

My beautiful hands tell a story

Sometimes pure

Sometimes dark

But with a simple idea

They create not only beauty

They create…

Love

 

Love can be shown in any form

Love can be shown in any form

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “The Beauty of a Hand

  1. midatlanticcooking says:

    heres an old one for Brunswick stew:

    “First catch your chickens, clean and cut them.

    And in an iron pot you put them;

    And water nearly to the top

    And in it salt and pepper drop;

    Boil slowly. Your tomatoes peel;

    Put in a shin or so of veal;

    And for a flavor bear in mind,

    A chuck of middling with the rind.

    Next, some onions you throw in,

    The young and tender skin,

    And butter beans do not forget;

    And what is more important yet,

    The corn; but do not be too fast,

    This you must cut and add it last;

    For butter then the flour you’ll find it’ll do.

    To give a thickness to the stew.

    Some lemons peel cut very thin

    May now be added and stirred in,

    And ‘ere it is taken from the fire

    Give it a dash of Worcestershire,

    And soon you will hear its praises ring,

    This is a dish fit for a king.”

    Old Brunswick County Recipes

    • smileycook says:

      Awww your words are TOO TOO KIND! I am so glad to hear I inspire you in some way. You inspire me with your awesome post! I am just happy that people are reading some of the poetry that I write. It is weird but I am becoming a writer everyday and I love it!

  2. Chef Randall says:

    You show buy this group of beautiful words that cooks can and are versatile. You cook and looks like your other love is writing. You do well at it. I cook and my other love is gardening. 🙂

    Thanks for viewing my blog, Savor the Food. I hope you return as we would appreciate your comments and readership!! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your blog with Us.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    • smileycook says:

      Thanks so much for the kind words. Yes I have realised slowly that one of my passions other than cooking is writing! I also took the time to look at your blog and thought it was pretty awesome!

      Thanks again for taking the time to comment and hope to not only read more from you but reading comments on future posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

