Green Smoothie Anyone?!

When you think of green smoothies you are probably thinking yuck gross! Who would want to drink something like that. Well I used to be one of those anti veggie anything good types of people until a couple of months ago. One thing I have noticed is I love to drink my calories from time to time. With my busy schedule I tend to forget or do not have time to prepare a proper meal so when I researched what I could make quickly and still have all the nutrients and still lose weight, I was all over it! Smoothies are not only a great alternative to a meal (done well) but also taste great and mask out any of the “nasty” veggie taste that people stay away from. One smoothie that I love and have every morningis my “Green Smoothie” . It might not be soo appealing but trust me it taste GREAT! This is what I put into my green smoothie but you can put whatever fruit and veggie mix you prefer.

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • Handful of fresh spinach (I prefer a head of spinach but a bag of spinach works just fine)
  • 1/2 cup of frozen tropical fruit blend (Shoprite brand)
  • 1/2 cup of frozen peaches
  • Couple ice cubes (optional)
  • Water (enough to help blend the banana and spinach which equals 1/3 cup)

The way I position it is I cut the bananas first, add the spinach, my ice, frozen fruits, than water…

 

Blend and you pretty much get this, I know it does not look so great but trust me, taste like a yummy sherbet that you would never know contains spinach.

I usually like to put my green smoothie in my fave insulated cup that you can keep ice drinks in. It keeps it nice and cool for a couple of hours actually and I usually take it with me either to work or in the morning while running errands. This smoothie is definitely for the ones who are looking to add fruits and veggies in their diet. It taste great and gives you great energy in the morning. Hope you enjoy this if you do make it and of course…Happy Blending!

2 thoughts on “Green Smoothie Anyone?!

Leave a Reply

